Dracula’s Die-ry

A look into the nights of a vampire who prefers puns over the correct spelling

Stefan Grieve
Microcosm
2 min readMay 12, 2022

--

Photo by Danika Perkinson on Unsplash

Dear Die-ry,

Drained another virgin today. She didn’t half moan about it though.

Bloody virgins.

Dear Die-ry,

Another night completely spent in my castle. Boring.

Might get a Nintendo Wii.

Dear Die-ry,

The bloody brides again.

Can you believe it, they think I should get a proper job.

I’m like, I’m the COUNT. I don’t need a job!

Also, they should stop bothering my guests.

It's getting embarrassing.

Dear Die-ry,

Van Helsing sent me an angry email.

I didn’t reply.

MUAHAHAHA!

Dear Die-ry,

The brides told me to go on a diet.

After coming up with a clever pun and seeing their glare, I reinforced the idea that I didn’t need one.

Then they reminded me about how I found it harder to climb up the castle walls like a lizard, now looking more like a constipated climbing pug.

Bloody cheek!

I told them I would cut back on the virgins.

Dear Die-ry,

Contrary to popular belief, I am not dead and loving it.

Not these days anyway.

Although I’ve quite got into golf.

Dear Die-ry,

Whoever thought eternal life would be so dull?

I said that to the brides, and they said, ‘well it is, living with you.’

I’m glad they live in a pit.

Dear Die-ry,

My brides recently said I’m sexist.

I said, I know, I am the sexiest!

Ha, I’m a genius.

Dear Die-ry,

I got a parcel of garlic shoved through my letterbox.

I’m beginning to think the Translvaniens don’t like me very much.

--

--

Stefan Grieve
Microcosm

British writer based in Wakefield, West Yorkshire. Chairperson of writing group ‘’Wakefield Word.’