Fixing Emma

With a bit of help from Photoshop

Nanji Erode
Microcosm
2 min readJun 29, 2021

--

Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

Emma, my wife, sent me her Facebook profile picture and asked me to remove the ugly mole on her nose.

I launched Photoshop. It was an old version I bought in a yard sale a few days earlier for fifteen bucks. The opening screen said, “This is an experimental version. Not for public use.” I hesitated, but then clicked OK. Who cares as long as it can remove a small dark spot? I proceeded and carefully removed the mole from the picture.

The next morning, I heard a scream from the bathroom. Emma came out running and I was shocked to see the real mole on her nose vanished!

Emma was ecstatic. She sent a few more pictures and ordered me to fix other blemishes. A wrinkle on her cheek. A scar on her upper arm. Slightly curved ear. I protested but then gave in.

Last night, I was fixing few strands of her gray hair. It was late, and I was tired. I must’ve messed up the layers in the Photoshop file because I heard a scream.

I ran to the bedroom and switched on the lights.

Emma was sitting in the middle of the bed.

Without her head.

--

--

Nanji Erode
Microcosm

Ideator, Copywriter, Movie Lover, Science Enthusiast, Minimalist.