Hey Cancer

You suck.

Nicola MacCameron
Microcosm
2 min readJan 27, 2022

--

Photo by Sarah Cervantes on Unsplash

You’ve taken my mother, my father, and my best friend. My brother and I have fought you off. For now.

I eat the best food. I exercise and I keep my emotions balanced. I live in a chemical free environment as much as depends on me and I drink purified water.

I’ve taken the genetic test for your kind that killed Mom and I’ve researched the ways to treat Dad’s edition of you.

I hate that you use my own body against me, as if I’m killing myself when really it is you. I hate that little pieces of my keep disappearing down test tubes and a great huge chunk of me went into the incinerator at the hospital. I hate how the only cure we have is a race between killing you and killing ourselves.

I hate how mothers have to choose between themselves and their babies, how babies come out of the womb riddled with you, and how babies grow up alone because their mothers chose them.

When I think about what to do if you come back, I wonder if I should fight as hard as Mom, or should I give up immediately like Dad. I have many friends and acquaintances who have fought you off. One of them is in round 14 with you.

So I thought about texting you today to let you know where I am with all this, so that if you finally made good on your threat, you’d know where you stand.

--

--

Nicola MacCameron
Microcosm

Are you creative? Everything I touch turns to art. Visual art, written, aural, tactile, you name it, I love it! Author of Leoshine, Princess Oracle.