Hours Left to Die

A countdown timer on your wrist

Nanji Erode
Microcosm
2 min readApr 14, 2021

--

Photo by Artur Łuczka on Unsplash

I tried everything but couldn’t bring my cholesterol down. All because of my poor eating habits. My doctor suggested that I get the HLD watch. A watch that shows how many hours you have left before you die. He said it has done wonders for some of his patients — the constant reminder of death has forced them to make big changes to their lifestyle and diet.

So, I bought the watch and started using it. It measures all kinds of bio variables and calculates a new HLD number every five minutes. I tried to make small changes to keep the number as high as possible. It was like a game.

My number shot up last week because I exercised a couple of times. Yesterday it started with 93,567 but then dropped to 89,349 by night because I had a huge hamburger for dinner that wasn’t good for my heart. A vague stomach pain kept disturbing my sleep throughout the night.

But today is different. I woke up feeling light and energetic. As I am putting on my slippers, I glance at my watch.

Why is it showing a minus 2.46? Probably a software issue…I may have to restart the watch.

--

--

Nanji Erode
Microcosm

Ideator, Copywriter, Movie Lover, Science Enthusiast, Minimalist.