Nine Missed Meals

Colin Taisey
Microcosm
Published in
1 min readOct 12, 2022
Source: Isaiah Villar Via Unsplash (CCO)

I remember that it started almost imperceptibly.

An out of stock item here or there. Price rises being blamed on one thing or another. Then the grocery stores pretended to be constantly reorganizing to hide the fact of an ever growing number of empty shelves.

Eventually our pantries were empty. Nine consecutively missed meals turned out to be the line where civilization broke down.

The cities erupted in riotous violence and robbery first.

The suburbs held on only a little bit longer.

Yes, of course I did things I wish I didn’t have to. I’m not naturally a violent person but I discovered that to keep my children from starving to death there isn’t anything I’m not willing to do.

I happily carry that guilt.

Microcosm writing prompt: The Famine

Colin Taisey is a husband, father, and professional firefighter that likes to write fiction for fun. The stories tend to be a bit dark and tragic.

--

--

Colin Taisey
Microcosm

I’m a Husband, Father, and Professional Firefighter that enjoys writing fiction for fun. My stories tend to be a bit dark and tragic.