Street Sweeper

Sometimes you have to bend the law to keep the streets clean

Leese Wright
Microcosm

--

Photo by Shylesh from Pexels

Most cops will tell you they chose the profession because they want to serve and protect the people. That’s the oath we all take, ain’t it? To serve and protect? Something along those lines, anyway. It’s not for me, though. I swore to it, but that ain’t the reason I joined up. I don’t care about people, just like people ain’t never cared about me. It’s a mutual thing, see. It just works. I get the bad guy, he gets put away, I get a promotion and a nice check.

I’m no hero. I ain’t doing God’s work. It’s easy money when you know the right people and the right corners to cut. It’s just a job. A job that allows me more freedom than you probably think. People tend not to ask questions when you hang around in seedy areas if you flash a badge at ‘em.

Seedy areas like the one I picked up Destiny from.

This one ain’t like the others. She’s the queen bee, so to speak. The other girls work for her. She took some work. I couldn’t just throw her fifty bucks and take her to a cheap motel for a quickie. I had to wine and dine and make her feel special. It’s been a sickening couple of weeks, if I’m honest. We’re using each other. She thinks she’s got a crooked cop in her back pocket; I just need a name from her. Last night, my hard work paid off. She’d…

--

--