The Loss of the Jacaranda Tree

A story about losing a wonderful tree

Ana Echeagaray
Microcosm
2 min readFeb 12, 2021

--

Photo by Tim Cooper on Unsplash

When I was a little girl, I lived in Mexico City, the second most populated city in North America. A city full of skyscrapers, houses, lots of pollution and not many trees. One of the only species of trees that you can find is called Jacarandas. Jacarandas are beautiful tall trees with small, violet flowers.

I have always loved Jacarandas. These type of trees have always given me joy.

Outside my grandmother and aunt’s house, there was a Jacaranda tree, next to the sidewalk. My grandmother planted the tree in 1985, and the tree stayed there until 2004. The tree grew so tall that it reached almost 3 meters tall (10 feet tall) and it was wide enough that the shadow covered part the sidewalk and garden. The tree flourished violet flowers twice a year, first during spring and then during autumn. While the tree was flourishing, the flowers fell, filling the floor with violet petals.

But everything beautiful always ends.

The tree started to grow larger and larger until it was big enough to break the sidewalk. So, my parents decided to cut down the tree. Of course, my grandmother and aunt didn’t want to get rid of the tree, but, eventually, they had to let it go. After my parents begged them to get rid of it, one day the woodcutter went to the house and cut down the tree.

After that day, my grandmother and aunt’s house did not look the same. I was so sad to say goodbye to the tree, especially in a city with as little flora as Mexico City has. Now, every time I see a Jacaranda tree, I think of my childhood, my grandmother, and my aunt.

The tree might not be there now, but, the memories will forever remain with me.

--

--

Ana Echeagaray
Microcosm

Writer, reader, music lover, art lover and a girl obsessed with vintage stuff.