MC Prompt #1 Reflection

The Power of Reflection in Fiction Storytelling

At the end of each month, I shall send out a prompt for the following 15 days, to challenge the brave.

May More
Microcosm
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

4 min readJul 31, 2024

--

Staring ahead, I saw the mask I had spent time perfecting five hours earlier. The neat eyeliner and subtle foundation. The lipstick that matched my nails and the eye-shadow that complimented the hazel of my iris. The girl glaring back could have been my doppelgänger. She looked like me, but I felt totally removed from her… From Girl in the Mirror by May More

Looking back over Microcosm’s history, it is no wonder that when Zane Dickens the Instigator took a break, the magazine was flourishing. He had always given the writers prompts to ponder and challenges to enhance their storytelling skills. Then, when Paul Mansfield joined as editor, the duo were unstoppable.

To get the magazine back on its feet, I intend to return to some of Zane’s earliest prompt posts to challenge any writers who want to take part.

Here’s how it’s going to work. (Updated)

  • At the end of each month, I shall send out a prompt for the following 15 days, to challenge the brave.
  • Make sure you subscribe here

--

--

May More
Microcosm

Freelance Writer/Editor (Personal Essay / Flash Fiction) 💜 Healing Adoptee / Proud Mum / Like growing things, coffee & hens