Weekly Prompt: Wilderness Remade

Use that powerful imagination of yours and bring the wilderness back.

Zane Dickens the Instigator
Microcosm

--

Photo by Marc-Olivier Jodoin on Unsplash

Last week was too tough, even I struggled to come up with an idea, and I had advanced warning!

I had to get my wife to pick a country for me to narrow things down. Then I only squeaked it in before the deadline — struggling to whittle down 60 words one by one until, in a fit of pique, I killed my protagonist.

This week let’s make it simpler, a little less homework, less researching the entire digital atlas hunting for wild places left in the world that are not also national parks. 🤦‍♂️

Since the first prompt, we’ve been moving ever upwards from a despairing rock bottom. From the startling realization of just how much of the world’s wilderness has disappeared.

Last week we learned about what we still have, what wilderness still abounds in our world's cold, remote reaches or the hot dense enclaves of our rainforests.

Now we eagerly climb up yet another level of optimism.

Now we look at how we could bring the wilderness back.

Now we rewild our world

Look at your hands, wiggle your fingers, make sure they’re loose and limber.

--

--

Zane Dickens the Instigator
Microcosm

Top Writer. Chief Instigator at Microcosm. Creator of the 💯 Story Challenge. Level Up: from Hobbyist to Authorpreneur at zane.substack.com/about