What’s Love Got To Do With It?

Zane Dickens the Instigator
Microcosm
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readApr 30, 2021

--

Dear Reader,

You may, after last week, have asked:

What’s love got to do with it?

And I might have in the past done the very same. Writing is a craft, a business, a toil and a struggle. It is made honourable by our blood, sweat and ink-running tears.

But ‘love’ — what of it?

I’ve had the opportunity, this past month, while riddled with sniffles and robbed of energy and most of my exuberance toward overwork, to reflect on what it is that I love about writing.

What I would crawl from my bed to do before crawling back in.

It’s telling stories, fictional ones, that tickle my fancy. That test my skills and strengthen my ability to wrangle words into herds that evoke worthy ideas or feelings in your fleeting attention, dear reader.

We’re all just so busy, our attention ebbs and flows like the beam of a lighthouse.

I’ve loved writing a Novella in Flash this Month; it only needs a sentence or so more until it’s done. I’ve loved this spontaneous collaboration chain of stories starting with Nanji Erode’s story, then mine, then Smillew Rahcuef’s story, and we’re presently working on Josh Knapp’s own take.

I’ve loved working with our writers this week, hearing their ideas and chiselling away until their vision is as clear as can be.

I’ve especially loved Paul Mansfield’s story this week and its lyrical love for music. This week it’s a bonus week, a tiny 25-word story challenge (friend link). What’s not to love about that?

There’s so much to love about writing; keep going, and thank you for reading.

All my writerly love,

Your Editor,
Zane Dickens

--

--

Zane Dickens the Instigator
Microcosm

Top Writer. Chief Instigator at Microcosm. Creator of the 💯 Story Challenge. Level Up: from Hobbyist to Authorpreneur at zane.substack.com/about