Diversity and Inclusion: My experience at a tech company

Combating impostor syndrome and learning to bring my authentic self to work every day

Aleenah Ansari
Microsoft Design
Published in
8 min readJul 7, 2017

--

This is the first in a series of articles about my experience as a content publishing intern at Microsoft, and how my identity as a woman of color informs my work. I hope that this will serve as an outlet for reflection and a reminder to bring all of myself to the table, while also sharing some lessons learned along the way.]

Diversity and inclusion are integral to my identity and values.

As a Pakistani Muslim woman, I’m all in when it comes to conversations about being an underrepresented minority (and fighting to feel valid in a world that wasn’t made for me). However, I also recognize my own privilege as a cisgender, able-bodied woman with citizenship, the ability to receive a college education, and a reliable income.

Whenever I enter a new job or class, I find myself asking, “do I deserve to be here?” This question has nothing to do with my skill set or relevant experience, but my identity as someone who often has to fight to feel valid.

--

--

Aleenah Ansari
Microsoft Design

I write about representation in media, travel, & storytelling 🌈 | lifting as I climb | marketer at Microsoft & freelance speaker | www.aleenahansari.com