Aerosoft Grumman F-14 Tomcat Extended Review

Michael Saul
Microsoft Flight Simulator X Stuff
8 min readNov 23, 2019
Here is a photograph of myself,Flying Miss Molly,the day I purchased the Add-On software. In this photograph,I was flying a non-classified/non-top secret mission over Alamosa Colorado,United States Of America. The reason being,make sure that Any,All,Each and Every person on the Ground,in the bodies of water,and in the air were up to my motto. Which is Healthy Safe,And Out of Trouble. The photograph was taken by myself,via pressing the V Key in order to take a screenshot whilst playing FSX. However,I had to edit the image and save it as a JPEG due to Medium’s Compatibility for images.

Introduction with some History and Facts.

First and foremost, Not a lot of people have ever told you this. The Grumman F-14 tomcat was retired on 22 September 2006 at NAS (Naval Air Station) Oceana in Virginia, However,It is still in use today with the Iranian Air Force. I am more than likely never going to fly the Iranian Air Force variants of my Aerosoft Grumman F – 14 Tomcat. Originally,The Tomcat was designed for The United States Navy as a Mulitrole Combat Aircraft. This means that,the aircraft/airplane had to not only fight with other aircraft/airplanes,it also had to drop bombs on certain places marked as targets,as well as do other things from the air. One of the things it did was aerial reconnaissance,meaning it would go look at a place before,attacks can be made on that particular place.Another Thing the Tomcat was designed to do was,Shoot down enemy aircraft/airplanes. The Swept/folding wing designs allowed it to,adjust its speeds accordingly in order to match the oncoming enemy aircraft/airplanes.

Another Nickname for the F-14,is “Turkey”. Most people affectionately refer to it as,and call it,“Tomcat”.

A lot of my childhood dreams have been destroyed ,many of which while still in school.Often times it had to do with politicians including politics. Not to mention, I was a little oblivious to The fact of the Grumman F-14 Tomcat being retired from Active United States Navy Service. I could have sworn,the news media mentioned The F-14 Tomcat being retired. However,I did not remember much of the broadcast,due tot he fact that I was in School for the day,and I had tasks to do for that time period. If anything,I only received information that was vague,about the Grumman F-14 Tomcat’s Retirement.

Always in my world,The Grumman F-14 Tomcat will fly forever. In other words, You will read about myself flying Grumman an F-14 Tomcats in Microsoft flight simulator X. There are also YouTube videos of my flights,flying,and game plays on my account. I rate the Add-on 4/5(Four our of Five) stars,mainly/mostly due to absence of other features,such as Tacpac.

Downtown Albuquerque,photographed from a Grumman F-14 Tomcat. The variant/paint color(s) is (are) not known at this time. However,the photo was taken by pressing the v key in FSX,In order to take screenshots.
These photos,as well,were taken from a Grumman F-14 Tomcat that I was flying. This,is Sandia Crest. In reality/real life,I would probably be in trouble by now IF I had flown like this. The reason being is because of Federal Aviation Regulations. Mostly/mainly due to the fact that I did,not,have a reason to be flying the way my images are showing it. another reason would be,noise complaints. Due to the fact that I was flying low enough,Some damage would occur to items/objects on the ground. In this case,Glass would be shattered at the Radio Towers and The Sandia Crest Visitors’ Center.

The Grumman F-14 tomcat is a very Phenomenal,yet iconic Aircraft/Airplane. Perhaps where it was famed the most,Was in the movie Top Gun starring Tom Cruise and Kelly McGillis.Once you have seen Top Gun, you would want to fly the Grumman F-14 Tomcat.Otherwise you would like to at least get your hands on it.In the case of myself,I wanted to fly in FSX.I first got the aircraft/airplane as freeware.Then, eight years later,I chose to get as a Payware Add-on. Payware means, I had to pay some money in order to have it. Which of course I did. I also did in fact go ahead and pay money for the F-14 tomcat Payware add on.I really wanted it. Plus, I even got my moneys’ worth.

Here I am,flying over Albuquerque,New Mexico. I was able to get an exterior screenshot by pressing,the V Key.

Game Play and review

When I began flying the F 14 in FSX,I had noticed something about the aircraft. It was not as low-quality as freeware add-ons. The aircraft/airplane was as a matter of fact as realistic as It could possibly be. I have been reading around way before I purchase the add on, that it can and will make you a better pilot especially a better gamer on Microsoft flight simulator X. Here is a tip for you, don’t you dare compare yourself with other gamers ,I’m sure you know exactly why in this case. When I started flying the F-14 tomcat in FSX, I did not quite get the aircraft/airplane at first. This means, I did not quite understand it well at first. Eventually, as my Tomcat left the ground in Flight Simulator X,I was able to maintain a straight and level flight . Then from there go fly around a little bit. However, I forgot to plug in my computer to charge it, due to the fact that it was from a laptop computer. Either I exited the game without landing, or the computer just shut off on me. I cannot quite remember. The Aerosoft F-14 Tomcat for FSX aircraft/airplane was sure fun to fly. My flight and gameplay,was good. I used a joystick to fly the Aircraft/Airplane. The joystick did its thing. The Joystick was able to give me the ability to do flight simulation things, along with doing F-14 Tomcat things.

Speaking of doing FSX and Aerosoft F-14 Tomcat Things,This is what I was able to do,especially because I was able to pause the game and take good screenshot pictures. All I had to do was press the V for Victor Key on my Keyboard. However,I paused the game to get a good view. Which,I of course did. As shown in the photograph I was able to fly over the places where I went to School with APS (Albuquerque Public Schools). The Schools are numbered. In this photograph The Numbers are as follows. Number 1 (One), Is S.Y. Jackson Elementary School. Number 2 (Two),Is Eisenhower Middle School. Number 3 (Three) Is E Dorado High School.
As with most gamers on FSX,they used add-on Scenery. The options are either freeware and/or payware. The Scenery I used was the Newport Simulations FSX Scenery ,for Albuquerque,New Mexico. I of course, had to pay for the scenery add-on in order to download it and install it to FSX. Hence the add-on scenery type,It was payware. The photograph above,shows myself zooming into EL Dorado High School to take a Screenshot Picture/Photograph.
Here is an FSX screenshot picture/photograph of where I went to School . Without the numbers,of course.Can you guess where I went to School.Please comment for your guess. Same Story with the other screenshots,pictures/photographs. This one was,for sure,taken from a Grumman F-14 Tomcat. However,The Tomcat was an Aerosoft GMBH, Payware Add-on in FSX. This is just me,expressing my imagination, by flying around Albuquerque,New Mexico,USA.

The Aerosoft F-14 Extended is the product I was using. I have so far 4 hours and 23 minutes worth of flight,flying,and of course, game play time. How I got that amount of Experience is explained. On the 14th of October,2019,I logged a total of Four (4) Flights,which of course mounted up to around Three(3) hours worth of flights,flying,including game plays. The aircraft/airplane,was fun to fly. As I got used to the aircraft/airplane,I chose to go fly it for 20 Minutes at a time. On the Fourteenth (14th) Of October,2019,which was Columbus Day Of that year,I received a Day off from my Job/Work. How I got the day off was like this,I called my Job/Worksite,and my Supervisor told me that the Day was going to be a slow customer flow. She offered a day off to me. I accepted it.

After calling in to my Job/Work Site,I went ahead and had the day to myself. I looked around My Hometown,Duke City,Which is Albuquerque, New Mexico,United States Of America. I thought of Buzzing some places with my Aerosoft Grumman F-14 Tomcat Extended. I would eventually do it,when I returned home of course.

After Returning home for the day,I went ahead,and opened my Flight Simulator X Game. The aircraft/airplane I had chosen was an Aerosoft Grumman F-14 Tomcat. Upon loading the game,and entering the cockpit,I did my pre-flight checks. One of these pre-flight items I had to do was,Make the aircraft/airplane ready to Taxi. The word Taxi means,To move the aircraft/airplane and,not go fast enough to sustain sufficient speed in order to fly.The next thing I would do,Fly over Duke City.

Here I am,owning the day. I am flying a * Pukin’ Dogs Grumman F-14 Tomcat. * Sorry for the Slang, I did,not,come up with the name. It is the way the Group/Squadron’s name. The Aircraft/Airplane was assigned to that Group/Squadron.

The Aircraft/Airplane is of course a very good add-on. Aerosoft makes some really good add-ons.Especially aircraft/airplanes. The Grumman F-14 Tomcat by Aerosoft is in fact,the best realistic add-on. It is fun to fly. However,This add-on,like any other Aerosoft Add-on (s),does in fact demand a lot of graphics on your computer. On my HP Pavilion,which I was using for this addon,The flights went well. I just needed to give my computer at least a solid Thirty minutes before flying. Reason being,warm up the computer. What could be better about this Add-on? A better computer,and Having Tacpac in order to make pretend attacks on certain places. Many of which in my hometown, are not good. Some of these places are drug parlors. I really want Tacpac in order to launch an AIM-54 Phoenix Missile at the parlors,mainly in response to the wrongs they had done.Such as killing a Friend,Family,And/Or An Acquaintance of ours/yours.

Is there anything,that needs to be better? All you have to do is ask in the comments and/or send me a message,and I will make it so.

Here is a gallery for you to look at. Please Enjoy it.

These photos were taken in Alamosa,Colorado,USA.
As shown here,I am owning the day. However,I had to change variants/paint colors by switching to a different aircraft/airplane. I did it by going to the Startup Menu,clicked select aircraft,and did so. Then,I chose my time date,weather,airport,and then went flying. I chose The Albuquerque International Sunport. In these photos.
Some of the images about Miss Molly,Have actually been taken in Alamosa,Colorado,USA.
An AIM-54,Including the C Model Phoenix Missile,is one of the best choices of Missiles. It should be enough to destroy,a very bad drug compound. The Phoenix should be good enough,to give whoever is tending the facility (facilities) a wake up call,stating this. Drugs are bad. I still fight against the bad drugs,as well.

Learn how to fly The Tomcat/Turkey in the link below.

Steven Beeckman This article is a response,to your Flight Simulation articles. I thought you might like this one. As for Rob Miller,we are very few aviation enthusiasts on Medium.com,I thought that we can help encourage growth of that community.

--

--

Michael Saul
Microsoft Flight Simulator X Stuff

I am an enthusiast of the following categories. Aviation,Health,Safety,Maritime,Military,Pets,and Animals. Most of my writing is going to be about those items.