Mastering DAX Techniques: WEEKDAY vs MOD

DAX: Uncovering the Benefits of the Weekday Function and Mod in My Data Analytics Journey

Sanjana Putchala
Microsoft Power BI

--

Before we begin, I want to ensure everyone can access the content. Not a paid member yet? Click here to read this story.

Created by Author Sanjana Putchala

In my journey coding with DAX, a recent encounter with a seemingly unassuming task left me both astounded and intrigued. I was presented with the challenge of altering the week’s start date, usually set to a conventional Sunday or Monday, to a less conventional Saturday. Little did I anticipate the profound impact that this seemingly modest adjustment would have on my code’s perspective and logic. This experience served as a catalyst for questioning the implications of even the most mundane operations and the importance of honing our attention to the subtle intricacies inherent in our coding practices. The realization that even the tiniest lines of code possess the potential to reshape our entire programming paradigm has left an indelible mark on my coding journey.

The Starting Point

While testing time intelligence functions in DAX for a data analysis project, I encountered a requirement to consider Saturday as the beginning of the week. However, the default start date settings of the time intelligence functions did not…

--

--

Sanjana Putchala
Microsoft Power BI

Demystifying Data and Analysis, one bite-sized article at a time.