AI Gaming

My First AI Gaming

From basics of Python to winning AI Gaming

Anwesh Budhathoki
Microsoft Student Ambassadors Nepal

--

I took part in AI Gaming held by Microsoft Student Partner Nepal. It was around mid-December, and I was in a dilemma in going to the AI gaming, as I did not have any technical knowledge of Artificial Intelligence. In this article, I will share my experience in AI Gaming and how Cloud providers help to improve our work.

Before the event, the only thing I knew about AI was that we had some data, we needed to train the data, and based on the training we could obtain our required output. Besides these, I had no idea how the data were trained, how to use the trained result, I had no idea on the different algorithms used in Artificial Intelligence, basically, I only knew the workflow of AI. However, I decided to show up in the event and participate with just a slight knowledge on Python.

The event began with the basics of Cloud Computing, Microsoft Azure, creating Azure account and Azure portal basics. I came to know about the Azure Cognitive Services and how these cloud technology are saving time we spent working on AI. We learned to subscribe to the Computer Vision API and use that API in our match game and use it to play with other players in aigaming.com. As we worked in Python and API calls in AI gaming, my knowledge on Python and the web helped me to understand how to play the game quicker.

The image of Match game of AI Gaming, where players needs to match similar tiles and is being played between two players.
Match Game being played between two players

The game was a match game, where we needed to match the similar tiles. This reminded me of Purble Place game that I used to play in my childhood. There I matched the tiles myself using my head, and here I needed to do exactly the same but using bot. The task was to code the bot using Microsoft Azure Computer Vision, as the tiles were similar but not the same.

To begin, we were given a code that could play the game to some extent, but it was slow and our task was to improve the speed of the game. We needed to check for the tiles that had animals, landmarks or words differently. Using Microsoft Cognitive Services, we could check if the tiles were same or not. Then side by side writing the code, test tournaments were conducted to make us familiar with the tournament and to test our codes as well. And after few test tournaments, we had amazing lunch and came again for the final tournament. And in the final tournament I won the tournament. I was pretty lucky as the score was same in the final match however I won from the tiles count.

My first use of AI with Microsoft Azure was really amazing as it was the first time using API with Python as well. The AI on Cloud is more strong due to large number of data. Also we need not rely only on our local machine to do powerful tasks. Tasks that took a long time, now can be done in short span on cloud.

Are you looking to be an AI engineer, software developer or are you already one? No matter, the cloud computing services of AI and Machine Learning which cloud providers has been providing will surely help you to scale up you work, save time and add value. And most importantly, it will help you to stand out among a huge mass and make you better engineer than other. You can always begin to learn and explore from AI School and Microsoft Learn.

--

--