Coda — Movie Review

Annabelle R Underwood
Microwaves
Published in
1 min readJan 22, 2022

I don’t have much experience reviewing films but I just needed to praise this movie. Coda came out August of last year and is now available on AppleTV. My mom is on a mission to watch as many potential Oscar nominations as possible. She and I both had a crappy day so we cuddled up to this movie.

The story follows a senior in high school named Ruby who works with her deaf family on a fishing boat. Ruby falls in love with singing and is encouraged to apply to Berkeley but grapples with leaving behind her family after being their interpreter her whole life.

I’m not lying when I say my mother and I both laughed and cried. It was a wonderfully touching story that never felt overly saccharine.

The soundtrack was groovy and alternative. The editing made you see the world briefly through the eyes of a deaf person. Overall, it’s a story about the power of community and a loving family. I completely recommend it. I hope it wins some Oscars because it definitely deserves it in my opinion.

--

--

Annabelle R Underwood
Microwaves

I'm a journalist who covers stories about the arts, the LGBTQ+ community, disability, drugs, and local news.