I’m a Tolkien fan and I won’t be watching the Amazon thing

I kept an open mind until the very end, but Amazon’s communication finally managed to drive me away from their ‘Rings of Power’ series.

JazzFeathers
Middle-earth Literary Gazette

--

Photo by Nick Scheerbart on Unsplash

I won’t be watching Amazon series.

I was in a ‘possible’ mood for a long time. Ever since I learned (years ago) that the series was going to be set in the Second Age, I hoped it would be good. I love the Second Age. The Fall of Númenor is one of the most heart-wrenching stories Tolkien ever wrote. It’s a story of despair but also of hope. A story of deceit, greed and fear but also selfless sacrifice, courage and devotion.

And Númenor is such a fantastic location.

I was hesitant because I love that story so much, and yet I hoped because I really wanted the series to be awesome. From the very beginning, I had a distinct impression this would be either spectacular or awful.

When more information started to trickle out at the beginning of this year, I was still hopeful.

I wasn’t particularly impressed with the title reveal clip, though it was nice. But the posters with the hands! I loved those! Seeing the characters and figuring out who they were was such a great feeling. That was the moment I was…

--

--

JazzFeathers
Middle-earth Literary Gazette

Author of historical fantasy set in the 1920s | Creative writing coach | Dieselpunk | Hopeless Tolkien nerd https://theoldshelter.com/