Tolkien, Oxonmoot and Living the Change Without Fear

My first Oxonmoot was online, and it was one of the best experiences in my life.

JazzFeathers
Middle-earth Literary Gazette

--

I had never been to Oxonmoot before.

Despite being probably the most prominent event dedicated to Tolkien in the world, Oxonmoot happens close to Bilbo’s birthday in the last part of September. This is a busy time at my work, and I normally have zero chances to get any days off. Therefore, Oxonmoot has always been out of my list of things to do.

But last August, I discovered it was going to be held online due to the pandemic emergency. And suddenly, something that had always been out of my reach entered in the sphere of things I’m actually able to do.

Distances shrinks

And still, I nearly didn’t.

It was a commitment during a weekend that was already busy for me, so I was still hesitant to take the plunge.

Then, one of my friends, Daisey, told me she was considering joining. Being from the US, she thought this was probably the only opportunity to attend an Oxonmoot she had since last summer another Oxonmoot online seemed to be unlikely because this seemed something to be done only in this emergency.

--

--

JazzFeathers
Middle-earth Literary Gazette

Author of historical fantasy set in the 1920s | Creative writing coach | Dieselpunk | Hopeless Tolkien nerd https://theoldshelter.com/