Why “The Hobbit” deserves our love — September Hobbit 2022

Why I think we should give more love to “The Hobbit”

JazzFeathers
Middle-earth Literary Gazette

--

Photo by Henry Xu on Unsplash

I’m coming to September Hobbit later than I would have liked, but here I am at last. This is the month we celebrate #HobbitDay (on 22nd September, Bilbo and Frodo’s birthday), and I love to have a special celebration here on Middle-earth Literary Gazette.

I love talking about The Hobbit. My appreciation of this story has greatly grown over the years, and I now feel readers often undervalue it.

It’s probably one of Tolkien’s most dismissed stories of Middle-earth. One that we often find fun to read but doesn’t compare to The Lord of the Rings. In fact, I know that quite a few readers actively avoid reading it because they don’t feel they are missing anything by letting it go.

While The Silmarillion is generally considered difficult but majestic, The Hobbit is often labelled as just a children’s story that accidentally landed in Middle-earth. And while this is partially true, it doesn’t mean it has no merits.

--

--

JazzFeathers
Middle-earth Literary Gazette

Author of historical fantasy set in the 1920s | Creative writing coach | Dieselpunk | Hopeless Tolkien nerd https://theoldshelter.com/