Life Lessons from a Billy Joel Concert

Tracy Gerhardt Cooper
Middle Ground
Published in
4 min readJun 5, 2019

--

The Piano Man taught me a lot recently.

Photo by Dolo Iglesias on Unsplash

I came home last week to a surprise from my husband. We were planning on going to dinner to commemorate the day we became a couple, twenty-six years earlier. Instead, he’d canceled our dinner reservation.

With a mischievous spark in his eyes, he smiled at me.

“We’re doing something different. Do you want to know?”

(I’m terrible with surprises, so yes I wanted to know.)

We played a guessing game, which ended with him spilling his adorable guts that we were going to see Billy Joel at Citizens Bank Park in Philadelphia.

From the time I was a kid in single digits, I have loved Billy Joel. The harmonies. The saxophones. The storytelling. So stinkin’ good!

I happily got ready and we grabbed a quick bite before heading to the park for the show. The evening yielded some great lessons and insights for me also. It was a perfect night out.

Photo by Skylar Sahakian on Unsplash

Surprises are Fun

I generally don’t like surprises. I like control. Surprises and control don’t play nicely together, ergo my…

--

--