An Apartment Divided

Ryan Moon
Middle of Nowhere, Center of Everything
4 min readNov 10, 2015

By: Haley Smith and Ryan Moon

The first thing Ryan and I ever learned about each other was that we were both interested in politics. A couple years back, we were both working as legislative clerks in the Iowa House of Representatives. This is a job often held by young politicos starting their careers and Ryan and I were no exception. We both felt that every day the lives of Iowans could be changed for the better, and it was going to happen at our work place.

The second thing Ryan and I ever learned about each other was that we were on opposite sides of the political spectrum. Ryan, a long-time Democrat and Obama campaign alum, and me, a life-long Republican who made “Bush/Cheney ’04” t-shirts for election day in the 7th grade, would almost certainly not be able to carry on a conversation about our work day, let alone date. And yet, here we are.

Flash forward a couple years, and now Ryan and I are living together in Washington, DC. Ryan is working for a progessive strategy firm and I am working on the Hill. He’s still a Democrat, I’m still a Republican, and we’re still happy.

People always ask us, “How do you make it work? Do you just not talk about politics?” While this concept could certainly save us a more than a few heated debates, we are both too passionate about politics to never speak about it with each other. So, it’s quite the opposite. We talk politics all the time. Because of this, we had the idea to start sharing some of our debates so we can show each side of the issues and maybe even show that people can completely disagree but still find common ground.

Why are you a Democrat? Why are you a Republican?

Ryan:

When I get asked why I am a liberal, I resort to one of my idols, President John F. Kennedy: “If by a ‘Liberal’ they mean someone who looks ahead and not behind, someone who welcomes new ideas without rigid reactions, someone who cares about the welfare of the people-their health, their housing, their schools, their jobs, their civil rights and their civil liberties-someone who believes we can break through the stalemate and suspicions that grip us in our policies abroad, if that is what they mean by a ‘Liberal’, then I’m proud to say I’m a ‘Liberal.’”

I believe that healthcare is a human right and that no citizen in this country should go in debt because they are sick. I believe that there should always be a safety net to help those who have fallen on hard times. I believe everyone should be treated the same under the law regardless of gender, race, or sexual orientation. I believe that everyone should be guaranteed an education no matter your circumstance. In this country, we’re only as strong as our weakest link. Not all people have been granted the same blessings in life, but I believe the government can be a force of good to even the score.

Haley:

Often times when people ask me why I’m a Republican, I sense they are asking for justification rather than out of honest curiosity. After all, how can a young female possibly be a Republican? The answer is simple: my life is better when the government isn’t involved. I don’t doubt that the government can do good things, after all if no Republican believed that then there would be no Republicans in government at all. However, I know how to best handle my life, plan for my future, help my community, educate my children, run my business, and really anything else life may bring.

The citizens of this country are special. We have unlimited potential for world-changing innovation and success, and for any regulating body to stifle such potential is the exact opposite of freedom. I care about creating jobs and opportunities, improving the economy, having a strong and helpful presence on the international stage, and allowing all people to create their best life. We have an inalienable right to improve our lives and succeed (or fail) on our own, and it is the duty of the government to protect this right for its citizens by staying out of the way.

What to expect…

Just like the separate sections above, every week we will post about a particular topic, issue, or policy. Ryan will write his, and I will write mine. You will get to see side-by-side what Republicans and Democrats believe without the attacks you typically see when different viewpoints are discussed. Sometimes you will see compromise, and other times you will see very little common ground; however, you will always see respect. An apartment divided against itself is still standing, and we look forward to showing you how.

--

--

Ryan Moon
Middle of Nowhere, Center of Everything

An Apartment Divided: When a Republican and Democrat live under the same roof.