Caucus Countdown: Day 10

Olivia O'Hea
Middle of Nowhere, Center of Everything
2 min readJan 23, 2016

We are officially less then 10 days away from the Iowa Caucus! The media is here, the candidates have spoken, and the excitement is buzzing. As a Drake University student, I can honestly say that now is a tremendous time to participate in politics. Being a lifelong political enthusiast, I never dreamed that I would have the opportunity to shake my favorite candidates hand, ask the questions that I feel are most important, and truly get a personal sense of who I am voting for.

Then enters the Iowa caucus. It’s essentially a playground for those passionate about policy. Suddenly, seeing famous power-players around town, or even around campus, is common. Even more special, these candidates are not only present, but care deeply about what we as Iowa voters think. After all, we hold the “first in the nation” status for a reason. This presents a wonderful opportunity to dig deep into what we want out of our next leader. From the democratic debate, to the Black and Brown Forum, I have been witness to many historic moments unfold steps from where I live. At times we may take that for granted, but I hope we all take the time to truly take in the monumental progress being made during this caucus season.

--

--