Drake’s Political Spotlight — And why Everyone Should Care

Photo by Katie O’Keefe

As a First Year Drake Student, I never fully appreciated the significance of attending a school with such meaningful political precedent.

Growing up in Iowa, perhaps I had become accustomed to the “retail brand” politics which are such a valuable part of our culture. I mean, of course I have always had the opportunity to listen to politicians speak in my own hometown, of course I am used to debriefings from presidential hopefuls being broadcasted on the local news nightly, and of course I have heard almost every issue of the campaign trail being discussed by engaged citizens in post offices, grocery stores, or just around the dinner table.

But in essence, I never realized that running into President Bush at my favorite soda shop one year, and Secretary Clinton at a coffee shop the next year, was actually something very special. It was an opportunity that people in other parts of the country did not always have the chance to experience, and something I had probably always taken for granted.

When I came to Drake, I was honestly amazed at how many people had chosen a school based on some type of political reason. “You mean, you’ve never been to an event with a President, a First Lady, and a United States Senator all in one cornfield?!”, I would ask my friends from Chicago or Minneapolis. Obviously, my Iowa roots had created somewhat of a naïve bias.

President Clinton and Senator Harkin at the Harkin Steak Fry in Indianola

During that first year, I had the opportunity to see Michelle Obama, Joe Biden, and Bernie Sanders speak; all without traveling farther than one mile from my dorm room. While these are all very different political forces in their own right, the one thing that struck me was the sheer “buzz” they were able to create, simply by being present. Campus would truly come alive with excitement, not just because these visitors were powerful and famous, and not just because they were there to present new, exciting ideas that would move our country into new directions and possibilities for success. Much of the excitement came form the fact that we were all there as well. The fact that our opinion mattered, the fact that what was important to us mattered, and was thus important to them was something very exciting indeed.

Michelle Obama speaks to Drake students

In the last political presentation I attended, Bernie Sanders stood at the podium and asked the crowd of student’s, “What will be the most pressing issue in this years election”? My friend, who believes that it will be continued healthcare reform, stood up and gave his thoughts on the issue. In response, Sanders asked him “Why”, and “How will we achieve this?” To this, I personally would have choked under the pressure, the news cameras, or the hundreds of my peers anticipating my answer. Fortunately, my friend provided an eloquent answer and ended up being quoted in the Register later that week.

Point being, yes, it is a unique opportunity to have access to so much political “power”, but it may be more unique when we realize that our voices are also heard, that what we believe plays a large role into each election, and we are privileged in that way.

The ABC News Republican Debate, held in Drake University’s Sheslow Auditorium

On November 14th, Drake will play host to the National Democratic Debate, and already that familiar buzz is in the air. Myself, like most other students, did not receive the “golden ticket” in order to actually attend the debate. However, it is still something to be celebrated that our institution will be home to such an exhibition. While we come to Drake to learn about the world around us, perhaps it is reassuring to know that the world around us can also learn from Drake. And while having a national media spotlight, or perhaps seeing a few famous faces around the commons is truly exciting, I believe it is important that we realize the responsibility we hold as Drake Students and Iowans. Our actions, viewpoints, and ideals have the potential to set a tone for each and every election. How we chose to utilize that power varies, but the fact that we possess it should always be appreciated.

--

--