Finding My Candidate

How Martin O’Malley got me engaged in the Iowa Caucuses again

--

If this kid likes you, you’re alright by me.

I’m getting all of the phone calls from out-of-state area codes that everyone else in Iowa is getting right now, but I’ve only had one candidate send someone to my door. Just as I was rushing out to pick my son up from daycare one afternoon this summer, a young man walked up the driveway and wanted to tell me about his candidate: Martin O’Malley. I was already kind of interested in O’Malley-he’s great on climate, he’s proposing some wonderful progressive policies to grow and support the middle class; but I listened to the kid make his pitch and drove to get my son excited about the caucuses for the first time this cycle.

I did a little research at www.martinomalley.com, and reading through his policy positions and resume, he was turning into the candidate for me. Then, he sealed the deal. After another gun violence tragedy (this is just the worst sentence to write) he came out immediately to name the problem we have in this country with guns and he put forward some sensible solutions. He stands with labor, he stands with women, he stands with the LGBT community (he was the only candidate to have any presence in the Des Moines Pride Parade!), and stands with immigrants. He does this all the way and without apology.

I got to meet him this weekend at the Downtown Des Moines Farmer’s Market (Gratuitous cute kid and presidential candidate picture included. Pardon my face, I was super excited). And, I’m thrilled that I once again see my progressive values reflected in one of my party’s candidates. We’re our best when we remember what this is really all about: putting forward the best policies for ALL of our friends and neighbors. I’ll be standing with O’Malley on February 1st, I would encourage you to, as well.



--

--