Iowa’s Youngest Democratic County Party Chair Endorses Martin O'Malley

Taylor Van De Krol
2 min readOct 14, 2015

--

He brings excitement. He brings energy. He understands the importance of retail politics in the first in the nation caucuses. His detail-oriented, goal-driven, and actions-over-words mentality gives me confidence that he is the right choice. Our country needs a fresh face and a new vision. That’s why I’m supporting former Maryland Governor Martin O'Malley for President.

“O’Malley gets endorsement from county chair at UAW event”-Newton Daily News, 10/12/15

Iowa’s Youngest Democratic County Party Chair Endorsed Governor Martin O’Malley on October 9, 2015 in Newton, IA. Handed Martin O'Malley a large stack of commit to caucus cards and a personal $24 check to celebrate 24th birthday.

Iowa’s Youngest Democratic County Party Chair Endorses O’Malley-Iowa Starting Line, 10/12/15

Introducing Governor Martin O'Malley to Jasper County Democrats and activists during his first appearance in the county at Uncle Nancy’s in Newton, IA 7/3/15.

At the age of 24, I am the youngest Democratic county chair in the state, less than half the age of the average chair. For more than four years, I have been politically active working for a labor union, a congressman’s reelection campaign, a US senator, numerous state senators, and knocked on thousands of doors on the campaign trail. I understand the importance of party building at the local level, and I believe Governor O’Malley holds those same goals and values for Iowa. So when you caucus next February, I want you to take a hard look at the candidates. Which candidate puts action over words, raised the minimum wage, passed marriage equality, and passed comprehensive immigration reform as an executive?

In 2014, I knocked on nearly 10,000 doors for Democrats all across Iowa, putting over 17,000 miles on my car. I’m ready and prepared to work hard this Iowa Caucus season, because I believe in Governor O’Malley and hope you’ll consider him in February.

“The presidency is not a crown to be passed back and forth between two royal families. It is a sacred trust, to be earned from the American people and exercised on behalf of the people of these United States. To you and to all who can hear my voice, I declare that I’m a candidate for president of the United States and I am running for you. May God Bless You and May God Bless the United States of America”-Governor Martin O’Malley, 5/30/15

Taylor Van De Krol

Chair, Jasper County Iowa Democrats

taylorjames.vandekrol@gmail.com

--

--

Taylor Van De Krol

Chair, Jasper County Iowa Democrats/Simpson College ‘14/Born & Raised in Small Town Iowa/Lifelong Iowan/All opinions are my own