Iowa Students for Marco

Brittany Gaura
3 min readNov 12, 2015

--

Last night students from across the state of Iowa gathered around and watched Marco Rubio in the 4th GOP debate. I couldn’t help but think about how well he did. The way Marco carries himself is like no other. He really acts like a President

Iowa State Students for Marco. Photo Courtesy of Raymond Lui

When Governor Walker backed out of the Presidential Race on September 21st, I knew Marco Rubio was going to the guy to back. I was quickly thrown feet first onto his team. I was given the role of College Outreach Coordinator. It has been one of the most fulfilling things I have ever done. Reaching out to college students from across the state of Iowa has been great. I love getting people as excited for Marco as I am.

Marco proved last night that he is the right pick for president. He appeals to everyone across the nation, no matter what class, ethnicity, or background. Being a college student, he appeals to me greatly. He truly understands what it is like to be in my shoes. He has had college debt. He has real answers to real problems. He understands that you can’t just give away college for free. We need real answers and he is willing to give them.

When I asked college students across the state of Iowa what they thought about this is the different things that they had to say:

“I’m glad he has answers for all the common questions. I also thought his exchange with Rand proved more beneficial than detrimental. Overall I am pleased with his performance.”- Mark Cochran, UNI Students for Marco Chair

“As I tuned in to the 4th republican presidential debate, I saw a confident, conservative candidate in Marco Rubio. He has provided realistic solutions and a vision for an American economy that can help the United States to be globally competitive while giving Americans in every social class the ability to achieve their American Dream.”- Adam Pitts, Iowa Students for Marco Co-Chair

“Last night on the debate stage, Marco was captivating. He truly embodied all of the qualities I would like to see in a future President and his answers were unparalleled. Marco especially resonated with me when he spoke of education reform and vocational school. We NEED to elect this man!”- Meaghan O’Brien, Iowa Students for Marco Co-Chair

Iowa Students for Marco. Photo Courtesy of Meaghan O’Brien

“Marco shined in explaining to the other candidates as well as America his economic policies. Not only this but he also had maintained a solid repute of those who challenged his ideals of national defense and immigration.”- Josh Donkle, Coe Students for Marco Chair

Seeing these comments from other students lets me know that I have picked the right candidate. As a college student who will be graduating with debt, Marco understands where I am going to be and is willing to give real answers to real problems.

--

--