Iowa Volunteer of the Week: Beth Conley

Name: Beth Conley

Candidate: Martin O’Malley

Past Campaigns: I have volunteered for a number of local and statewide campaigns. My first volunteer work was for Kerry-Edwards, and I’ve been volunteering every cycle since.

1. Why do you volunteer for this candidate?

I am volunteering for Martin O’Malley because he’s my candidate of choice, obviously, but I’m more committed this time because I think he has an important message that is getting drowned out. He’s got a strong record and good policies. I think he’s the best choice for the party and the presidency, and it’s my responsibility to make sure that as many people as possible know about him.

2. What issues are most important to you during this campaign cycle?

Look there are a lot of important issues at stake this cycle. I’m most drawn to O’Malley because he’s strong on climate, guns, immigration and women. I like the way he’s framing our foreign policy discussions as well.

3. What has been your favorite campaign memory so far?

I’ve got two: O’Malley’s speech at the Jefferson-Jackson dinner this year was very moving. It was fun for me to see people wake up to him and his message at the dinner. I also have a three-year-old son, one of his sight words is “Martin O’Malley”, I love it when he has a question about “Martin O’Mawwey”, especially if it’s about when we’re going to see him again.

--

--