Iowa Volunteer of the Week: Jackie Wellman

Name: Jackie Wellman

Candidate: Hillary Clinton, Hillary for Iowa

Past Campaigns: Bruce Braley for Senate 2014, Obama’s campaign in 2008 and 2012 (note: she first heard Obama speak in 2004 and immediately thought ‘he’s going to be our next president’), Kerry’s campaign in 2004.

1. Why do you volunteer for this candidate?

The truth: we can’t have a Republican elected as president. I support her policies and intelligence. I really believe in her and her experience. I really think that Hillary is the right person for the job and I can’t imagine seeing Donald Trump in the office.

2. What issues are most important to you during this campaign cycle?

The issues I care about most this year are health care and foreign policy. I don’t think the bully-mentality we’re seeing from some of the GOP candidates on foreign policy is going to work. We need someone who understands foreign policy and can get the job done.

3. What has been your favorite campaign memory so far?

Going to the Jefferson-Jackson Dinner rally before the dinner. I got to meet both Hillary and Bill Clinton; it was great to be a part of that.

--

--