Iowa Volunteer of the Week: Janet Miller

Name: Janet Miller

Candidate: Carly Fiorina

Past Campaigns: Volunteered for Colorado congressional and senate races, for John McCain’s and Mitt Romney’s campaigns for President, and some local races in the Denver area.

1. Why do you volunteer for this candidate?

I volunteered for Carly Fiorina candidacy because I have admired her and her accomplishments ever since she first appeared in Fortune magazine’s cover story as CEO of Hewlett-Packard. Having also served for many years in secretarial and administrative assistant positions, before studying for pastoral ministry, I rejoiced in her abilities and her success and, because of that article, she became a role model for many women, including me.

I decided to volunteer for Carly’s campaign because I am impressed with her integrity, her intelligence, her ability to listen and process questions and information, and because of her leadership skills. When I watched the Citizen Carly documentary on-line, I realized that “here is America’s Margaret Thatcher,” and I wanted to do whatever I could to support her candidacy.

2. What issues are most important to you during this campaign cycle?

I think that the most important/critical issue at this time is the protection of America. We desperately need a leader who will honor and uphold the Constitution and, by so doing, protect our nation from those who seek to destroy our “citizen-based” country from within and from without. Without this foundation, built on the experience, wisdom and tenacity of America’s forefathers and foremothers, we divide and thus we will fall.

3. What has been your favorite campaign memory so far?

It’s hard to choose just one favorite campaign memory, but here are some things that I won’t forget: The first time I attended one of Carly’s gatherings, she asked the audience, “Have you ever been fired?” This brought back my own vivid memory, which was small in comparison with her being fired as CEO by the board of a major corporation. But, with that question I became aware of that her life-experience of such an incredible rejection has created within her the ability to relate intellectually and emotionally with the millions of men and women across our nation who have suffered the loss of their livelihood, their calling, their purpose.

Another memory follows the second debate: I will always admire the way Carly handled Mr. Trump’s remark about her face, how she responded with her immense dignity, and then — a day or so later — followed with a delightful ad focusing on the faces of countless, successful women. Who could imagine a better response than focusing on the reality of gifted women?

But, preparing for and having Candidate Fiorina hold a Town Hall Meeting here in Harlan will undoubtedly be my most lasting memory. I was privileged to introduce Carly to an audience of over 130 people from Shelby County as they gathered for the “Coffee with Carly” event. Her intelligence, her vast knowledge of the issues facing our nation and the world, her ability to address issues, and her warm and caring interaction with the citizens was a blessing for our community.

In summary: Carly is among the most intelligent, caring, informed, and articulate people whom I have had the privilege to encounter. Following her visit to Harlan, I condensed my thoughts to this: Think integrity. Think Ability. Think Leadership. Think Margaret Thatcher. Think Carly Fiorina!

--

--