My Journey to Find My Presidential Candidate

Sharon DeMers
Middle of Nowhere, Center of Everything
4 min readNov 2, 2015

I was looking for someone to believe in, trust, and stick with for the long haul. About four months ago, armed with a list of attractive candidates to scrutinize, I began whittling the field down to find “the one.”

No, I wasn’t computer dating, I was searching for the right presidential candidate to support. I wanted to be engaged and have a horse in the race and thought Marco Rubio might be my guy.

I met Rubio at a West Des Moines book signing, where small talk led to a conversation about my love for home brewing beer. Inside the cover of the book I purchased, he wrote: “Can’t wait to try your beer.” Clever. I liked this guy. As I left, I promised him a sample of my home brew.

He was personable, engaging, and someone who would connect well with young voters. He had a great story to tell about his Cuban immigrant parents. Inspired, I picked up supplies on the way home to brew him a batch of nut brown ale, and designed and purchased bottle labels based on his relationship with his grandfather. It looked like this might be the “horse” I was hoping to support in 2016 race.

In a small-group meeting with early supporters in June, I met Rubio for a second time. He was very articulate. And being able to deliver a compelling message and resonate with voters is critically important; yet, I couldn’t commit.

The country is thirsting for demonstrated leadership, someone with a record of achievements, business or chief executive experience, and someone who vows to break through gridlock and change the culture in D.C.

Maybe I’m too critical and set the bar too high, but I believe a candidate’s past performance and record are indicators of their future achievement. I also believe our country is suffering from electing candidates whose oratory skills trump true substance. Talk is cheap. Give me someone who has a record of delivering on their promises.

With a diminishing interest in Rubio, I began to feel a little like Julia Roberts in “Runaway Bride.” At this point, I decided to take a break and head to the Iowa State Fair.

Naturally, one of my first stops was at the GOP booth. From out of no where, Eric Baker appeared holding a clipboard under my chin. He was recruiting Jeb supporters and asked me to sign up (although he had a much more charming way of phrasing that). Although totally out of character for me, I forked over my personal information, even though Jeb was not on my radar screen. However, I left the GOP booth feeling that Jeb had a really top-notch person representing him and hoped to volunteer with people like Eric sometime soon.

Shortly thereafter, I received an unexpected phone call from Jeb supporter, Erin Strawn. I asked her to share why she was supporting Jeb and learned that she had family living in Florida who personally saw the state turnaround under Jeb’s leadership, including: Improved education scores, balanced budgets, a leaner state government, and $19 billion returned to Florida’s taxpayers. What’s not to like, right? For me, it was only the muddled immigration issue.

In a phone call from another Jeb supporter, Mark Jacobs pointed out to me what Jeb’s immigration plan would and would not do. Mark gave me a bunch more to think about.

On the heels of those calls, the campaign delivered to my front door, a book called, “Immigration Wars,” written by Jeb Bush. It was difficult not to be impressed with their thoughtfulness and ground organization — a customized effort to earn my vote. I was pretty sure the book would confirm my objection to Jeb’s immigration plan but decided to take a look for myself. A short ways into the book, I felt egg dripping from my face.

I had been entirely wrong about Bush’s immigration plan. He was not for amnesty. In fact, the plans in Jeb’s book inspire optimism about not only resolving the immigration issue, but about reviving the economy and improving our education system.

Jeb has an exemplary record of measurable accomplishments, such as balancing the budget, cutting taxes in a state that has no state income tax, turning around educational test scores in Florida, and making charter schools a choice for all families. He wants to put Washington on Weight Watchers via a balanced budget and by using a line-item veto to disrupt the status quo. And he’ll do it with a spirit of inclusion and optimism.

Hearing Jeb share in person his accomplishments as governor of Florida, his optimism for our country, and his conviction for having a “servant’s heart,” compelled me to seal the deal. He’s the guy who can unite the country to get things done.

Jeb Bush is running for president for the right reasons — he loves this country and wants to shift the power out of D.C., back to the states, and back to The People. He can fix what’s broken. I trust and believe in Jeb Bush, because he’s done it!

I am humbled, honored, and thrilled to be part of his volunteer force, led by his dedicated and professional campaign team.

Jeb Bush is “the one” for me.

--

--

Sharon DeMers
Middle of Nowhere, Center of Everything

Author of a children’s picture book; loves to write; passionate about political issues; home brews beer; loves DIY projects and helping people succeed.