Shop local this holiday season

Nicole Branstad
Middle of Nowhere, Center of Everything
2 min readNov 24, 2015

The holiday season is upon us (less than a month until Christmas!) and I know I have only just made a dent in my list. You too? Well, don’t fret because this weekend is the perfect time to hit up your local shops to buy Aunt Edna (ok, and maybe yourself) the perfect gift during Small Business Saturday.

Nestled in between Black Friday and Cyber Monday, this annual call for merry makers to shop small (and local) is perfect here in Des Moines. We have some amazing places at our fingertips and I don’t know about you, but I definitely love finding that special gift for the right person at a store only found in our hometown.

eden: The perfect East Village store to find something for every one on your list. Men, women, little babes. Every. One.

Boxwoods Fine Furnishings: I can’t be trusted in this store. It speaks to my inner interior designer. I don’t know how I have walked out of there so many times without purchasing those black/white buffalo chairs…

Badowers: You want your dude to look good? Head here. You won’t be disappointed.

Ingersoll Wine & Spirits: Who says shopping local can’t include wine?! This is one of my favorite spots to snag a bottle of bubbly.

Hinge: This repurposed/vintage store is nestled in a grand house in Valley Junction. Expect to find one of a kind goodies with a rustic flare.

AllSpice Culinarium: In need of a gift fit for an inspiring chef or baker? Or a special something for a holiday party host/ess? AllSpice has got you covered.

Accents + Interiors: Located in a strip mall in Urbandale, this hidden gem is great for kitchen goodies, holiday items and even jewelry. My absolute favorite initial necklace (that I gifted myself last Christmas) is from here.

Pink Print Company: Calendars, stationery and personalized stamps — oh my!

Kitchen Collage: Colorful Le Creuset greets you as you enter and there are culinary goodies as far as the eye can see.

--

--

Nicole Branstad
Middle of Nowhere, Center of Everything

Wife and mom @mrsbranstad. Online marketer @desmoinesuniv. Blogger and daydreamer @tomorrowstodos.