Teflon Don and His Beautiful Wall

Sharon DeMers
Middle of Nowhere, Center of Everything
3 min readNov 18, 2015

They’re stealthy and random. You know they’re coming and think you’re sufficiently braced. But the impact stuns and is jarring. They’re bombs known as “Trump-isms.”

These insulting, arrogant warheads spew from a man who’s running for President of the United States. Crass and offensive, the business mogul’s attacks are fired at will, yet he maintains his trajectory in the polls. He’s our modern-day “Teflon Don.”

He’s called Mexicans, illegally flowing across our border, rapists and criminals and promised to build a “beautiful wall” to keep them out and name it after himself: “The Great Wall of Trump.”

He’s entertaining, and his presence in the GOP debates boosts ratings. But can we please elevate a candidate who possesses an ounce of decorum, someone our children can look up to and actually quote?

Speaking of quotes . . . here are a few gems from Teflon Don:

1. On the Islamic State: “I would just bomb those suckers.”

2. “How stupid are the people of Iowa? How stupid are the people of the country to believe this crap?” “He goes into the bathroom for a couple of hours, and he comes out, and now he’s religious.” (re: Ben Carson)

3. “When someone crosses you, my advice is ‘Get Even!’”

4. “Your brother’s administration gave us Barack Obama because it was such a disaster those last three months that Abraham Lincoln couldn’t get elected.” (to Jeb Bush)

5. “Let me tell you, I’m a really smart guy.”

6. You’ve called women you don’t like fat pigs, dogs, slobs and disgusting animals. “Only Rosie O’Donnell,” he said.

7. “I think the only difference between me and the other candidates is that I’m more honest and my women are more beautiful.”

8. “Look at that face!” “Would anyone vote for that? Can you imagine that, the face of our next president?!” (re: Carly Fiorina.)

9. “I’m not a schmuck.”

10. “If Obama resigns from office NOW, thereby doing a great service to the country — I will give him free lifetime golf at any one of my courses!”

11. “It’s like taking the New England Patriots and Tom Brady and have them play your high school football team. That’s the difference between our leaders and China’s leaders.”

12. “Arriana Huffington is unattractive both inside and out. I fully understand why her former husband left her for a man — he made a good decision.”

13. “Free trade is terrible. Free trade can be wonderful if you have smart people. But we have stupid people.”

14. “Senator Marco “amnesty” Rubio, who has worst voting record in Senate, just hit me on national security.”

15. “First of all Rand Paul shouldn’t even be on this stage, he’s got 1% in the polls,” “I never attacked him or his looks, and believe me, there’s plenty of subject matter right there.”

16. “I know more about ISIS than the generals do,” Trump said. “Believe me.”

17. “I’ve built an unbelievable company worth billions and billions, I don’t have to hear from this man.” (referring to John Kasich)

18. On What His Secret Service Code Name Would Be as President: “Humble”

--

--

Sharon DeMers
Middle of Nowhere, Center of Everything

Author of a children’s picture book; loves to write; passionate about political issues; home brews beer; loves DIY projects and helping people succeed.