Trump’s Vulgar Comment

Sharon DeMers
Middle of Nowhere, Center of Everything
1 min readDec 23, 2015

Evidently, I need to brush up on my Yiddish slang so I can better understand future NBC news reports and Donald Trump’s vocabulary.

I say that because Lester Holt’s lead-in story last night was about Trump’s “vulgar” comment about Hillary Clinton. Expecting something earth-shaking, I dropped everything to watch the newsfeed, only to be left puzzled about what the media found so disgusting. And they never did explain exactly what it was about his comments that were so offensive. They just insisted they were.

With my curiosity piqued, I googled “Trump’s vulgar attack” and found his offense was using the word “schlonged.” I didn’t know what that meant, but I found that some suggested usages of the word are disgusting. However, it can also mean “to hit someone or thing.” Only Donald Trump knows for sure what he had in mind when he used the word.

All I know is that “schlonged” is not a common term here in fly-over country, where I struggle with something as basic as the correct spelling of Hanukkah.

Now, back to my glossary of Jewish terminology . . .

--

--

Sharon DeMers
Middle of Nowhere, Center of Everything

Author of a children’s picture book; loves to write; passionate about political issues; home brews beer; loves DIY projects and helping people succeed.