Why Walker Dropping Out is for the Best

Brittany Gaura
Middle of Nowhere, Center of Everything
3 min readSep 22, 2015

As many as you may know, I am a HUGE Walker supporter. I’m pretty sure I was Walker2016 before he even thought about running for POTUS. It truly breaks my heart to see him go. If it weren’t for Governor Walker, I would not be into politics. I would not care like I do. Governor Walker gave me my voice. He is the reason I want to make change. If a man can go to work everyday despite there being 100,000 protesters, I can stand and debate a teacher or two against something we didn’t agree on.

First meeting the Governor in April 2015 (Also my favorite picture with him)

The Governor made a valid point today in his statement. He said, “Today I believe that I am being called to lead by helping to clear the field in this race so that a positive, conservative message can rise to the top of the field. With this in mind, I will suspend my campaign immediately.” He also stated, “I encourage other Republican presidential candidates to consider doing the same, so that the voters can focus on a limited number of candidates who can offer a positive, conservative alternative to the current front-runner.”

The Governor and I at our first meeting (Proudest moment of my life)

I have said it once and I will say it over and over, we have many well-qualified candidates in this race, but there comes a time when the field has to be narrowed down. There can only be one winner at the end of the primary season. What Governor Walker did today just proved to me why I chose to support him in the first place. He is a proven leader. What this country needs now more than ever is that proven leader. It may not be as the POTUS, but in another way. Governor Walker is that leader that our party needs. His guidance will help the party with these next couple of months. We need to focus on attacking the Democrat candidates, not the other Republican candidates.

If there is one thing I know about Governor Walker, it is that he truly is an amazing mentor. I’ve followed him since 2010, when he first ran for Governor. I will follow him until he decides political office is not longer for him. He has been a positive image in my life. I will ever have anything, but kind words to say about the Governor.

Supporting the Governor at an event in Iowa

Governor Walker, thank you for all that you have showed me. I cannot wait to see what these next couple of months/years has in store for you. I will always be behind you 110%. There is nothing that will change that. As sad and as heartbroken as I am to see you step out of the race, I know it is for the best. I wish you, your wife, and your two boys the best of luck in the years to come.

--

--