A Journey With Grief.

She can rest now, and so can I.

Elspeth Raisbeck
Middle-Pause

--

Image author’s own.

I have a much better relationship with my mother since she died.

It sounds harsh, doesn’t it? But some mother-daughter relationships aren’t as easy as we’d like them to be or as easy as we think they should be. We hope for a friendship that transcends the parent-child angst, something that blossoms into something peaceful.

Sometimes, we get stuck, and the peace never comes.

That’s how it was for us. We loved each other endlessly, but I think we never really liked each other.

So what happens when that most significant relationship ends with the death of the parent? There is so much to grieve for. The loss of what might have been if only I could have salvaged the relationship, made it better, and been a better daughter. The loss of someone who loved you unconditionally. The loss of the memories you, and only the two of you, share.

How do you make it to the other side of grief with your sense of self not only intact, but wiser and stronger? Is grief something to be got through or do we move forward with it, into life as it is now?

I had waited 40 years for this grief.

At first after Mum died, when I closed my eyes and thought of the grief, I could see the…

--

--

Elspeth Raisbeck
Middle-Pause

Writer, creator, coach, clinical trainer, UK registered medical professional. We are all so many things - can descriptors and adjectives do us justice?