A Profound Lesson I Have Learned From My Fatigue

I am worthy

Cali Bird
Middle-Pause
Published in
6 min readJun 14, 2022

--

Photo by Chris Rhoads on Unsplash

Over the last six weeks, my fatigue has returned, as has the incapacitation which accompanies it. I have produced a weekly article for my Gentle Creative publication, but I have done little else. I saw my wonderful homeopathist last week and, thankfully, I am improving.

I have often been plagued by fatigue but this time I have had a profound breakthrough in how I view it, my creativity, and my worth as a human being.

Before I talk about that powerful insight, I want to go back thirty-five years and tell you about the first time that extreme tiredness took over my life and how difficult it was to deal with.

I was a 21-year-old music student

It was May 1987. I was 21 years old, in my final year at university as a music student. I had a series of final exams and then had to give a recital. I was a flautist. There were three other flute players in my year and they were all better than me.

I had prepared for this recital for two years and it was going to be the moment where I was desperate to “show them” what I was capable of. I wanted to speak from my heart, musically.

It was hugely important to me, not just from the point of view of getting my degree, but in expressing my…

--

--

Cali Bird
Middle-Pause

Realistic advice on being creative alongside your busy life. www.gentlecreative.com. I write novels too. Need romantic escapism? Check out www.calibird.com