Lifestyle | Learning

Chronicles from the Dean of Curiosity: My Lifelong Quest for Answers

An unusual call to adventure

Cappelli, MFA, JD, PhD
Middle-Pause
Published in
5 min readNov 28, 2023

--

Photo of Author in Tanzania

I was born curious. A curiosity that makes me wonder about life's what, where, who, and mostly why. Why is a question that pops up a few times a day in the ordinary course of my daily life.

What is that homeless man smoking in his vape?
Where is his family?
Who is he?
Why is he alone?

The why stampede then runs wild. Why doesn’t his family help him? Why doesn’t he get help? Why doesn’t he help himself? Why him, not me? Why?

Why is a circular question: one why leading to the next why.

Once, while hiking through the Santa Monica Mountains, I met a hippy woman in a flowing pastel bohemian dress and a string of amethyst, rose quartz, and yellow and blue crystals around her neck. She was an odd duck and stopped to ask me if I was a student or a teacher.

I said both. She then offered me a position at her university.

The University of Life, she called it, whose mission is to embrace a life guided by inner purpose, express love, serve others, and accept others from the peaceful place within.

--

--

Cappelli, MFA, JD, PhD
Middle-Pause

Top Know Nothing Writer with way too many degrees who enjoys musing on life's absurdity.