Middle-Pause Pump-Priming Prompt

Do You Keep Secrets? Or Do Others Keep Secrets from You?

Tell us about the role of secrets in your life

Marilyn Flower
Middle-Pause
Published in
5 min readMay 20, 2024

--

“Three things cannot long stay hidden: the sun, the moon, and the truth.” –Buddha

Does anyone remember an ’80s Hasbro game called Scruples?

It comes with little cards with ethical questions on them. You have to guess how your partner would answer.

I only ever played it once, with my husband and another couple we often went on weekend getaways with. We were at Orr Hot Springs, probably semi-dressed after a day of hiking and soaking.

When it was our turn, my husband, who I’ll call Simon, got a card that read, Your wife gets pregnant by another man. Does she pass the baby off as yours? He was taken aback and wasn’t sure.

Our friends said, yes I would like it was no big deal.

But then they asked me what I would do, and I blurted out, I’m not sure. Is he white or black?

Everybody laughed and the game moved on.

The topic didn’t come back up. Then.

Fast forward a few years later when Simon gets a once in a lifetime opportunity to visit some friends…

--

--

Marilyn Flower
Middle-Pause

Writer, sacred fool, improviser, avid reader, novel forthcoming, soul collage facilitator, prayer warrior and did I say writer? https://linktr.ee/marilynflower