Essential Tips for Writing Focused and Engaging Articles

Streamline your writing for better results.

Cindy Heath
Middle-Pause

--

Photos of woman in a dahlia field and on a walk by the ocean, relaxing after writing.
Author’s photo collage from Canva.com

One of the biggest problems I see as an editor is writers who include too many thoughts in one article or essay. We must narrow the topic and choose which information, specific anecdotes, or memories work in that specific story.

“But it’s all relevant,” you may say.

“You’ve lost track of what you’re saying,” the editor replies. “This could be two or three articles.”

Narrowing our focus to one subject at a time is essential. Otherwise, our article will be a maze full of dead ends and too many twists and turns, and we will lose readers.

How do I know? Because I’ve felt like banging my head on the keyboard! I work for hours and hours, read my work, and realize I’ve headed off on a tangent. It's time to start over, pull the mess apart, and put the pieces back together. Usually, I discover too many ideas, veering off in multiple directions.

After writing hundreds of articles here and for clients, I’ve learned to save time and write more readable stories by narrowing my subject.

Though I love to write, the garden and the hiking trails are just outside my window, and I’m eager to answer their call.

--

--

Cindy Heath
Middle-Pause

I’ve been a farmer, entrepreneur, writer, and more. I'm passionate about nutrition, health, nature, and the rewards of personal writing.