From Challenges To Opportunities

Exploring the turning points that define us.

Sherry Briscoe
Middle-Pause
Published in
3 min readSep 11, 2023

--

Photo by pawel szvmanski on Unsplash

There are defining moments in our lives when time is divided into before and after. An accident, a death, a betrayal so deep it scars the soul. Mine was all three.

This is the opening of my novel, The Dutiful Daughter. But it’s more than just a few lines in a book, it’s something that happens to all of us.

Our lives can change course with every birth, love, loss, death, job, move, illness, and more. Think of the things that have changed the direction of your life.

What moments can you say, ‘My life was different before this event than it was after it’?

After my first year of college, I decided to join the Army instead of enrolling for my second year of school.

The U.S. Army was a gigantic life changer for me. When I came home from two years in Germany, I was not the same person who enlisted on a hot August day. I was different. My outlook on life had changed. My perspective of who I was and what I wanted had changed.

I left for boot camp without a clue of who I was or what I wanted in life. I was insecure, shy, and timid. But my time in the military changed me. I came home confident, strong of will, with a determination to achieve my goals. Goals that I finally…

--

--

Sherry Briscoe
Middle-Pause

Reader, Writer, Wordsmith Advisor, lover of lemon drop martinis, popcorn and all things supernatural. Author of suspense and urban fantasy novels.