Poetry

Goodbye to My Inner Critic

I’m all grown up now

Mary Gallagher
Middle-Pause
Published in
2 min readSep 27, 2022

--

Photo by JoelValve on Unsplash

Can I bid you farewell, set you free from yourself, and watch you fly away like a thousand butterflies scattered in the wind?

Will I miss you? Regret my hasty decision to banish you from my world?

Maybe I’ll throw a goodbye party.

Wish you well —

Pack your bags and purchase your one-way ticket to Timbuktu.

Even if your intentions were good, I’m certain I’ve outgrown you, moved beyond you, grown in grace and out of reach of your bony, pointed finger and critical gaze.

Your freedom is my freedom, after all. Why hesitate to let you go?

With open hands, I’ll set you free. With screaming resistance, you fight the inevitable.

Shattered, you scatter, a million little pieces, matter released to find new form and purpose.

I’m all grown up now, that cowering little girl no longer making space for you.

Mary Gallagher writes about how letting go has opened up a rich world of possibilities while creating a simple, stress-free life at Pick More Daisies.

If you enjoy articles like this, you can use this link to join Medium for unlimited access. A small portion of your membership supports me and many other great writers too.

--

--

Mary Gallagher
Middle-Pause

I cut the stress, slowed down, and learned the art of intentional living. When you declutter your soul, you make room for what matters. @The Decluttered Soul