Her First Solo Plane Trip

I’m mum about my anxiety, and am instead receiving gifts from her

Tooth Truth Roopa Vikesh
Middle-Pause

--

What our daughter bought in New Delhi: Bubble gum spheres for herself, foaming face wash for me, a pen set for Daddy and some free sunscreen they were handing out at Delhi airport. Author’s image.

My daughter Sivakami went to New Delhi for a week after she finished her class 10 Board exams.

She is fifteen, and this was her first solo flight.

Vikesh and I dropped her off at the Ranchi airport, and our older daughter, Gayatri, who lives in New Delhi, picked her up, hosted her for a week, and dropped her back.

Her grandpa, my dad, brought her home from the Ranchi airport. In spite of her “door-to-door delivery” and chaperoning, Sivakami was All Alone in the airport and on the plane on the way out and the way back.

Gayatri and Sivakami. Author’s image.

Or as alone as one can be when one is in India, but you know what I mean. Traveling alone without friends or family.

Strangers don’t count, they add to parental stress.

When Sivakami returned from her trip yesterday evening, her dad and I were in an almighty hurry to get to our dental clinic.

Due to some back-to-back government holidays for Holi (festival of spring and colors) on Monday and Tuesday, followed by Good Friday, many of…

--

--

Tooth Truth Roopa Vikesh
Middle-Pause

I don’t just create smiles, I inspire them! Dentist, mom—Jamshedpur, India.