How I Confused the Power of Love with the Love of Power

Destroying my marriage and my self-esteem in the process

Marilyn Flower
Middle-Pause

--

a woman hides most of her face with her crossed forearms
Photo by Norman Toth on Unsplash

It’s February, so our thoughts turn to love, right?

Is that cause spring is around the corner and love is in the air?

Or because, like one of Pavlov’s dogs, we’re conditioned to think about love in anticipation of Valentine’s Day?

Nothing wrong with a Hallmark holiday reminding us of the primacy of love. But buyer beware, they want us to buy cards, candy and all things red and pink. As soon as the Christmas stockings and New Year’s hats are cleared out, the Valentine products fill the isles of our local stores.

Which reminds me. I got suckered into some pretty heart-shaped chocolate mousse cakes with pink flowers on top. They’re sitting in the car, in anticipation of a belated birthday lunch with a friend.

Only we had to cancel that lunch and they’re still sitting in my car. Probably melting all over the seat by now!

All that to say, none of us are immune from the onslaught. So let’s use it as food for thought, shall we?

I have a story in mind so let me get to it already!

It’s about the power of love turning into the love of

--

--

Marilyn Flower
Middle-Pause

Writer, sacred fool, improviser, avid reader, novel forthcoming, soul collage facilitator, prayer warrior and did I say writer? https://linktr.ee/marilynflower