How We Were Almost Victims of a Scam

As criminals grow more professional, we have to grow more skeptical.

Bebe Nicholson
Middle-Pause

--

We were visiting my sister when my husband received a phone call and dashed from the house.

I thought he was trying not to interrupt our conversation, but after he had been outside 30 minutes, I grew impatient. He and I were supposed to drive from Georgia to South Carolina after we left my sister’s house, and I wanted to get there before dark.

I poked my head out the door to see what was going on, and he said, “It’s the police. They’re telling me there’s a warrant out for our son’s arrest.”

“Oh no! What for?” This was alarming news, but believable because of several things that happened years ago.

In the first incident, our son was arrested for an outstanding speeding ticket and locked up in the Atlanta city jail with 15 other men. He spent 9 hours in prison before finally being released, and it took him two more weeks to retrieve his confiscated cell phone.

This traumatic experience left us rattled. It was frightening to think the police have enough power to lock someone up on such a flimsy charge, and it helped us realize how unfair the justice system can be.

--

--

Bebe Nicholson
Middle-Pause

Writer, editor, publisher, journalist, author, columnist, believer in enjoying my journey and helping other people enjoy theirs. bknicholson@att.net