I Am Disabled and Just Now Discovered July is Disability Pride Month

How could I not know — lack of awareness?

Debbie Walker
Middle-Pause

--

Image of toy wheelchair sitting among child chaors.
Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

I didn’t know about Pride Disability Month until I read mention of it in Stephanie Berchiolly’s newsletter the other day. She is a friend, colleague, and past guest of Middle-Pause’ podcast, STOMP!

This is a topic close to my heart because I am a disabled person. That is one reason I started Middle-Pause (MP). Besides myself, Margie Pearl, a fellow MP team member, is hearing impaired.

Also, disability runs deep in my family. From mental illness to paralysis to chronic pain, disability affects us in significant ways.

However, let’s take a dive into the recent history of disability in America.

What Is Disability Pride Month?

According to Book Riot:

On July 26th, 1990, congress passed the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), the first legislation of its kind that protects disabled people’s rights in the United States. Now through the entire month of July, Disability Pride recognizes and honors disabled, chronically ill, neurodivergent, and Deaf people. Although it’s not officially recognized nationally, Disability Pride Month is still celebrated across the country, and several major cities

--

--

Debbie Walker
Middle-Pause

Debbie Walker is the creator of Middle-Pause, STOMP!, & published a 3-book anthology. Top Writer Food & Diversity. Follow her at https://linktr.ee/Debbie_Walker