I Couldn’t Believe My Sister Lost Our Mother’s Phone

Why it takes a village and a sense of humor to care for someone with dementia

Bebe Nicholson
Middle-Pause

--

Photo by author

When your mother with dementia lives with you, you need a break. That’s why I called my sister and said, “Could you please stay with Mama while I leave town for a few days? I’m desperate!”

I even offered to pay her.

“Sure!” My sister agreed. “I can do it. But you don’t have to pay me!”

I had my bags packed when she arrived.

“Don’t worry about a thing,” she said. “I’ve got this. Go have fun.”

I left town for three blissful days, and when I returned, my sister looked frazzled. “The hospital bed is broken,” she announced as soon as I walked in the door.

“What do you mean the hospital bed is broken?” Hospice had provided us with a hospital bed a couple of weeks earlier. We could crank our mother to a sitting position, which made it easier for her to get out of bed.

“Somehow, her blanket got caught in the motor.”

I fiddled with the bed, but it wouldn’t budge, even after I extricated the blanket. “How did the blanket get in the motor?”

--

--

Bebe Nicholson
Middle-Pause

Writer, editor, publisher, journalist, author, columnist, believer in enjoying my journey and helping other people enjoy theirs. bknicholson@att.net