I love Award-Winning Actress Frances McDormand for Her Many Talents and How She Models Graceful Aging

Let me emulate her with as much acceptance and dignity as I can

Marilyn Flower
Middle-Pause

--

Frances McDormand: the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 2.0 Generic license.

At this stage of my life, I’m on the lookout for role models for aging gracefully.

Given the Oscars are coming right up, and Frances McDormand is up for a Best Actress award, I’m starting with her.

Besides, speaking out against agism, she’s one helluva great actress.

In my opinion, that’s because she studied theater and acted on the stage, including Broadway, as well as the big and small screens. There’s something about theater that adds texture and depth to a performance.

Maybe because theater is live.

Chemistry happens when actors connect with their audience, exchanging waves of energy back and forth during the performance. Ms. McDermond puts it like this:

I’m trained in the theater, and acting, for me, is about the imaginative life I create for myself, not about basing it on something real. I think that whatever I create becomes the reality for the audience.

Not only that, there’s no magnification like there is on film or TV. So it’s up to the actor to project their…

--

--

Marilyn Flower
Middle-Pause

Writer, sacred fool, improviser, avid reader, novel forthcoming, soul collage facilitator, prayer warrior and did I say writer? https://linktr.ee/marilynflower