WITCHES | CREATIVITY | HANDMADE BOOK | CREATIVE PROBLEM-SOLVING

I Made This Special Book for My Granddaughter

A fun, creative project for both young and old

Barbara Carter
Middle-Pause
Published in
4 min readOct 12, 2023

--

Art & photo by Barbara Carter

When my granddaughter was three years old, she was fascinated with witches. I found her several books with witches, but one day set about making a homemade one for her.

I used black Bristol board 6x9 inches - as far as I recall since I didn’t write these details down. The cloth images were then glued onto the Bristol board. After each page was made, I added holes on one side and attached them all together with string.

On a 5x7 inch piece of fabric, I didn’t do any planning or drawings of what I would do. I just cut out shapes and ironed them in place on the background fabric, using fabric I’d previously ironed fusible webbing on.

Since my granddaughter was at the counting stage. I chose to use numbers to go with the witches. That way she could also have fun counting the witches as I read her the rhyming part I wrote to go with each number.

Art & photo by Barbara Carter

--

--

Barbara Carter
Middle-Pause

Memoir. Life Lessons. Creativity. Art. Healing. Relationships. Books.