I’m Ready to Go Gray

My seven reasons why

Dani Mini
Middle-Pause

--

Selfie taken by author

I seriously considered going gray three years ago during the lockdown. After much soul-searching and extensive consultation with family and friends, I realized it wasn’t time. It felt like an identity change I wasn’t ready for.

Well folks, this time around, I’m ready…. to at least try it out. April 2, 2023, then, might go down in the history of my little life as the last time I colored my hair, the before and after marker.

This is not a step I’m taking lightly. On the contrary, I’ve pondered my why to death, which is kind of embarrassing. What with all of life’s important decisions, my hair color is pretty irrelevant. Plus considering all the meaningful events (good and bad) happening all over the world, who TF cares about my hair?

Still, I thought I’d share my reasons for going gray. Who knows whom I might distract from their worries or sway in the gray direction?

1. I might look great with silver hair.

I’ve obsessively been looking at transitioning to gray reels on Instagram for many months. The messages boil down to these four:

  1. I absolutely love it.
  2. I should’ve done it sooner.
  3. I will never look back.

--

--

Dani Mini
Middle-Pause

Dani is a special education advocate and writer of anything worth pondering, from autism to Botox.