MIDDLE PAUSE | NARCISSISM | MOMOIRS

“I’m Way Too Spiritual for That”

I thought, then I spoke to my mother

Kelley Murphy
Middle-Pause
Published in
4 min readFeb 14, 2023

--

Original artwork by Author ~ Enhanced in CanvaPro.
Original Artwork by Author (very vaginal, don’t you think??)

You know, they are GOD people. Sinners sitting in the front pew, trying to get to ‘heaven’, which doesn’t exist. You die and it’s over. Period. ~ My Mother

My parents were disdainful of all things “religious.” Growing up, we attended Christmas candlelight services, and they spent most of the time making fun of the other parishioners for living in the “fantasy land of belief.”

I’ve always been a spiritual being. We all are. However, like many of us, I inherited resistance to religion, which impeded my spiritual growth for most of my life.

I’ve been moving along this newfound soul path at a brisk clip. Over the past two weeks, I’ve established a human guide and began journeying to meet helpers in the Spirit realm.

With help from a meditation practice, I am leaning back into embodiment and presence. Receiving, and practicing openness, second by second at times — it’s a new way of being in the world and the body.

So talking to Mom should be no problem. New awareness, new dynamics.

Right?

Along came a mother

--

--