Life as it Happens

I’ve Been Accused of Gaslighting

2023’s Merriam-Webster’s Word of the Year

Cappelli, MFA, JD, PhD
Middle-Pause
Published in
5 min readAug 13, 2023

--

Photo by Mohamed Nohassi and Author+Canva

Gaslighting.

I never heard the word before until 2021 when one of my students, Abbey, claimed I gaslit her after trivializing her feelings. This was after she poured on the tears hoping I would change her final grade from a C to an A.

“I need this A. I won’t get into Brown without it,” Abbey said.

“Sorry, Abbey,” I replied. “I hardly think one C is going to destroy you.”

“You have no clue. Now, you’re gaslighting me!”

Abbey got that right. I was clueless.

I had no idea what gaslighting was and didn’t even bother to look it up. I suppose I was a bit tough. So much so that she told the administration, and somehow I got written up for my insensitivity. Was this the definition of gaslighting?

I continued to hear the word over and over again. Gaslit this, gaslit that.

Were there other insensitive teachers out there also unwilling to give an average student an A after hearing their sad personal stories and saying the wrong thing — “I’m sorry, next time study.”

Fast forward to 2023.

--

--

Cappelli, MFA, JD, PhD
Middle-Pause

Top Know Nothing Writer with way too many degrees who enjoys musing on life's absurdity.